Welcome to the CVT!

The Institute of Chemical Process Engineering at KIT investigates, teaches and develops new processes to chemically transform substances. In doing so, we focus primarily on chemical reaction engineering. We also develop and use models and CFD simulations so that we better understand how the reaction takes place. Based on this knowledge, we can design reactor internals and catalyst supports in a targeted manner and intensify material conversion processes.

 

 

News

Portrait Prof. Dr.-Ing. Gregor D. WehingerCVT
Inaugural lecture by Prof. Dr.-Ing. Gregor D. Wehinger on 09 July 2024

As part of the faculty colloquium of the Department of Chemical and Process Engineering, Prof. Dr.-Ing. Gregor D. Wehinger will give his inaugural lecture on "Multiscale studies for a sustainable chemical engineering" (held in German). The event will take place on 09.07.2024 from 17:30-18:30 in the Engler-Bunte-Hörsaal (Geb. 40.50). Further information.
01.07.2024

Achema 2024 LogoAchema
CVT visits ACHEMA 2024

The Institute of Chemical Process Engineering visited Achema in Frankfurt a. M. on June 12, 2024 with 15 students from the Faculty of Chemical Engineering. Achema is the world's largest process industry trade fair for chemical engineering, process technology and biotechnology. The companies Sulzer, Ekato and B.E.S.T Fluidsysteme (Swagelok) gave exclusive insights into current technology and future applications. Many thanks for the guided tours and the diverse impressions.
12.06.2024

Promotionsfeier
Martin Kutscherauer graduates summa cum laude

With his outstanding doctoral thesis on "Particle-resolved CFD simulation of catalytic fixed bed reactors for maleic anhydride production", Martin Kutscherauer has completed his doctorate at Clausthal University of Technology. The CVT would like to congratulate him on this excellent achievement.
(f.l.t.r. Gerhard Mestl (Clariant), Martin Kutscherauer, Thomas Turek (TU Clausthal), Gregor Wehinger)
14.03.2024

Willkommen in der CVT!

Das Institut für Chemische Verfahrenstechnik am KIT erforscht, lehrt und entwickelt neue Verfahren, um Stoffe chemisch umzuwandeln. Dabei konzentrieren wir uns vor allem auf die chemische Reaktionstechnik. Außerdem entwickeln und nutzen wir Modelle und CFD-Simulationen, damit wir besser verstehen, wie die Reaktion abläuft. Auf Grundlage dieser Erkenntnisse können wir Reaktoreinbauten und Katalysatorträger gezielt designen und Stoffumwandlungsprozesse intensivieren.

 

Aktuelles

Achema 2024 LogoAchema
CVT besucht ACHEMA 2024

Das Institut für Chemische Verfahrenstechnik besuchte am 12.06.2024 die Achema in Frankfurt a.M. mit 15 Studierenden der Fakultät für Chemieingenieurwesen. Die Achema ist die weltweit größte Messe der Prozessindustrie für chemische Technik, Verfahrenstechnik und Biotechnologie. Die Firmen Sulzer, Ekato und B.E.S.T Fluidsysteme (Swagelok) gaben exklusive Einblicke in aktuelle Technik und zukünftige Anwendungen. Herzlichen Dank für die Führungen und die vielfältigen Eindrücke.
12.06.2024

Promotionsfeier
Martin Kutscherauer promoviert summa cum laude

Mit seiner herausragenden Doktorarbeit zum Thema „Particle-resolved CFD simulation of catalytic fixed bed reactors for maleic anhydride production“ hat Martin Kutscherauer seine Promotion an der TU Clausthal abgeschlossen. Das CVT gratuliert herzlich zu dieser exzellenten Leistung.
(im Bild v.l. Gerhard Mestl (Clariant), Martin Kutscherauer, Thomas Turek (TU Clausthal), Gregor Wehinger)
14.03.2024

Particle-resolved computational fluid dynamics;PRCFD;Conjugated heat and mass transfer;Heterogeneous catalysis;Catalytic fixed-bed;Inter- and intra-particle transport
Neue Publikation im Engineering Applications of Computational Fluid Mechanics

Im Rahmen seiner Promotion veröffentlichte Martin Kutscherauer eine neue Methode zur Kopplung von CFD mit Reaktion und Transport in porösen Katalysatoren. Die Methode ermöglicht eine von effektiven Transportparametern unabhängige Simulation katalytischer Festbettreaktoren und eignet sich hervorragend zur detaillierten Analyse und Verbesserung des Katalysatordesigns. Mehr unter diesem Link.
10.01.2024